Things to do When You’re Stuck at Home


Listen, I don’t know about you guys, but I love being active, going out on adventures, and just doing things. At this time in my life, I don’t want to be home alone all day. Some people really love that sort of thing and if that’s you, more power to you and kudos to you because I couldn’t do it all the time. I need to be doing something. 

I’m currently fulfilling the roll of housewife. With all that I just said how on earth am I surviving? And no, my answer is not copious amounts of Netflix or even, if I’m being honest, reading. If you find yourself in a situation whether that be maternity leave, being a stay at home mom, or whatever your reason, I have a list of activities that I do to pass the time until Andrew is home.

Baking or Cooking 

  • Some of us can’t cook to save our lives. So if you’re really afraid of using the stove or the oven, then maybe this isn’t something you’d want to do, but I have a great time baking during the day. If you’re nervous about making something from scratch, I’d suggest investing in some of the fun pre-made mixes that you just have to add the wet ingredients to. They’re so easy and usually still a similar quality. The internet is your best friend in this and you can really find some delicious recipes to follow if you’re feeling a little more adventurous. I made some banana bread today, and our home smells so yummy right now! Baking or cooking can take anywhere from 15 minutes to a couple hours of your day and it’s always nice to have a tasty treat when you’re done!

Some of my favorite recipes right now: 

  1. Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies – mmm so good! Chocolate chip cookies are a very basic, but oh so yummy thing to make. You can double (or triple – I’m not judging) the recipe to make more.
  2. Garlic Pasta with Roasted Cauliflower – this recipe uses chili flakes, but I haven’t tried it with them only because we haven’t bought any, but it tastes so good with or without the chili flakes! Anti-cauliflower folks, hear me out! This is not your basic steamed cauliflower this is roasted, crispy, garlicky goodness! I love this preparation for cauliflower, and we have bought so many cauliflowers since and every time I am always impressed. Even the cauliflower haters would love this!
  3. Pasta with Oil and Garlic – I don’t have a recipe that I use for this one, but it is so easy. Oil and garlic really makes a great base for a pasta dish. I love sautéing garlic and/or onions with some spinach and mushrooms and adding that in there. Sometimes I’ll use some sun-dried tomatoes. It’s a really light, but filling dish, and it’s not even bad for you!

Arts and Crafts

  • As I mentioned in a previous post, I recently got into crocheting. While I’m not great at it, it is fun and takes up as much time as you really want it to. You can crochet for hours in a day for multiple days straight or even just 15 minutes. It’s not too hard to pick up either. 
  • Another fun thing I do is adult coloring books! They’re so relaxing and you feel pretty accomplished after coloring in a really complex design. The result is always very satisfying.
  • Andrew knits and loves it. Knitting is a bit more time consuming than crocheting and a little more difficult to pick up, but the people I know who knit love it!
  • Fringe blankets were something I used to love making when I was younger and they’re sooooo easy! Just go to any store you know that sells fabrics and find some fleece-like fabrics that you like. I always did one with a pattern and one accent color. When you get the fabrics of your choice (size and style), cut the corners off in a square shape so the corner looks like it’s inverted. After doing that, every half inch or so make 3-inch cuts along all of the sides. Then you just lay the two fabrics on top of each other and tie them off. So easy. 

Cleaning and/or Organizing

  • For some people, myself included, cleaning is pretty therapeutic. I love living in a clean and tidy space. You can do something as easy as wiping down a counter to something more time consuming like going through your closet and straightening things up and getting rid of things you don’t need. I’ve always been a firm believer in if it doesn’t make you happy or you don’t like/need/use it, get rid of it. Maybe this is the little minimalist inside of me saying that, but I definitely think decluttering is an excellent pastime and helps maintain me my sanity. 

Learn Something New

  • With the internet at your fingertips and practically all the resources in the world accessible to you with a simple swipe or tap, it is pretty easy to learn something new. A language, some math, history, politics, science, whatever interests you is almost certainly out there for you to learn. My fiancé and I were trying to learn Swahili, and I have read all about Catholicism, Protestantism, and the Reformation. It’s not too difficult to do this and it can take as much time or as little time as you want it to. You can learn a new skill like how to make oragami cranes or learn how to take an integral by parts. Find something that interests you, and you can really pass the time.

Dance Party

  • I don’t know about you, but I really enjoy lots of different kinds of music and something about singing and dancing around my home is just really fun. It’s great exercise too! What better way to pass time, work out, and just have fun! Plus if you have pets, it’s fun to get them involved! I put on my makeup during this sometimes and feel like I’m a rockstar! 

These are just some of the activities I do to pass the time. What are some things you do?

Signing off,

Kaitlyn Summer

    Leave a Reply

    